Best Practices for Choosing REALTOR® Champions CourseV

Best Practices for Choosing REALTOR® Champions is a three-hour training session that provides best practices for association staff and volunteers, including RPAC Trustees, Government Affairs Committee members or other member-leaders, that disburse money to candidates at their state or local associations. This training provides hands-on assistance and time-tested templates to state and local associations that want to screen, identify and ultimately help elect political candidates who will represent the issues important to REALTORS® and real estate.

Following this class, attendees will be able to:

  1. Relay the policy issues and articulate the candidate selection committee’s goals for the coming year for the association they are serving;
  2. Outline their committee’s process and criteria for candidate support;
  3. Assess a candidate’s chances for winning; and
  4. Identify the best practice methods when selecting and supporting REALTOR® Champions for office.

Classes are sponsored by state and local REALTOR® Associations, under their association name and at their chosen facility. NAR recommends maximizing your offering by inviting volunteer leaders to be trained at a statewide meeting.

NAR provides training materials to those associations who wish to sponsor this course for their members. NAR does not charge a fee for use of the course materials. NAR asks that you alert NAR of your Best Practices for Choosing REALTOR® Champions course so that we may track the use of this offering.

There are a limited number of NAR instructor-led courses available each year. Contact NAR for details.

The state and local Government Affairs Directors listed below have participated in NAR’s Train the Trainer class are qualified to teach this offering. You may contact one of these trained facilitators directly to discuss them facilitating your program (i.e. travel, lodging, and/or compensation if necessary).

List of qualified trainers for this course:

Last Name First Name Prim Assoc. Title City State Email
Addington Greg ROGUE VALLEY ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Government Affairs Director Medford OR greg@addingtonconsulting.net
Auld Christy GREATER CHATTANOOGA ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Chattanooga TN Christy@GCAR.NET
Brown Rex MIDDLE TENNESSEE ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Wartrace TN rex@mtar.org
Brownlow Eric Southeast Minnesota Association of REALTORS GAD Rochester MN eric@semnrealtors.com
Butrum Mike NC Association of Realtors Government Affairs Director Asheville NC mbutrum@ncrealtors.org
Clemett Matt Salt Lake Board of Realtors Public Policy Director Sandy UT matt@slrealtors.com
Cockroft Josh Oklahoma Association of Realtors State GAD OKC OK jcockroft@okrealtors.com
Dailey Alissa UTAH ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Campaign Services Manager Sandy UT alissa@utahrealtors.com
Davis Rian CLARK COUNTY BOARD OF REALTORS® INC Public Affairs Director Vancouver WA rian@ccrealtors.com
Dickerson Veronica NORTHERN KENTUCKY ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Government Affairs Director Florence KY veronica@nkar.com
Economou Jason Realtors Association of Maui GAD Kahului HI Jason@RAMaui.com
Elalamy Sara Delaware Association of Realtors GAD Dover DE sara@delawarerealtor.com
Garcia Bridget COLORADO ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Manager Englewood CO bgarcia@coloradorealtors.com
Grant David NJ Realtors GAD Trenton NJ dgrant@njrealtor.com
Gross Spencer OHIO ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Government Affairs Director Columbus OH gross@ohiorealtors.org
Hayward Sigrid MID SHORE BOARD OF REALTORS® Government Affairs Director Easton MD susiehayward1@gmail.com
Hill Cameron COLORADO ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Englewood CO chill@coloradorealtors.com
Hipskind Francine Tulare County Association of REALTORS GAD Visalia CA gad@tcmls.org
Janssen Chris Missouri Realtors GAD Columbia MO chris@morealtor.com
Jessop Marcus Salt Lake Board of Realtors GAD Sandy UT marcus@slrealtors.com
Jones Stephen MAAR Gad + Com Mobile AL stephen@gcmls.com
Klundt Cate UTAH ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Government Affairs Director Sandy UT cate@utahrealtors.com
Kuhns Theresa SOUTHERN MARYLAND ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Hughesville MD theresak@somdrealtors.com
Ledford Jeff Georgia Realtors GAD Atlanta GA jledford@garealtor.com
Lounsbury Seth LONG ISLAND BOARD OF REALTORS® INC RPAC Liaison West Babylon NY slounsbury@lirealtor.com
Lynch Nancy Vermont Association of Realtors GAD Montpelier VT nancy@vermontrealtors.com
McFall Josh HUNTSVILLE AREA ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC CEO/AE Huntsville AL Josh@valleyMLS.com
McMillen Jamie AKRON CLEVELAND ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Vice President of Government Affairs Broadview Heights OH jmcmillen@akronclevelandrealtors.com
Miller Connor TRAVERSE AREA ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Government Affairs Director Traverse City MI connor@taar.com
Mock Brad Georgia Realtors GAD Atlanta GA bmock@garealtor.com
Morton Brenda DULLES AREA ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Ashburn VA bmorton@dullesarea.com
O’donnell Melissa NEW ORLEANS METROPOLITAN ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Metairie LA melissa@nomar.org
Olson Cari Billings Association of Realtors GAD Billings MT cari@billings.org
Palmer Seth NORTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Raleigh NC spalmer@ncrealtors.org
Patten Bo LONG ISLAND BOARD OF REALTORS® INC VP Government Affairs West Babylon NY bpatten@LIRealtor.com 
Paventi Marlo LONG ISLAND BOARD OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director West Babylon NY mpaventi@lirealtor.com
Peetz Elizabeth COLORADO ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Englewood CO epeetz@coloradorealtors.com
Rayne Sarah COASTAL ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Government Affairs Director Berlin MD sarah@coastalrealtors.org
Roche Jennifer KNOXVILLE AREA ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Knoxville TN jennifer@kaarmls.com
Stark David BAY EAST ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® Public Affairs Director Pleasanton CA davids@bayeast.org
Vogelsberg Patrick KANSAS ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Topeka KS patrick@kansasrealtor.com
Walker Starrett Kelli NEW ORLEANS METROPOLITAN ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Metairie LA kelli@nomar.org
Wise Clarke Mississippi Realtors State GAD Jackson MS cwise@msrealtors.org
Zimmerman Mark NORTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF REALTORS® INC Government Affairs Director Raleigh NC mzimmerman@ncrealtors.org